ClubRoadster.net banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I think this is my first time posting on this forum but I've been floating around reading it for a bit,
Anyway I see a lot of people here running flex and a few other full coilover setups. What do you guys think of the one in my title?
I am choosing bilstein because they are monotube and can be revalved later for cheap, to match my spring rates and have a better feel.
I want the car just under 13" height so that's why I want the GC.
I drive hard in the mountains, and want to get into some track days and autocrossing for experience.
Anyone running this setup? Opinions? I've heard lot's of votes for koni, but they are more expensive initially, and to revalve.
The FM springs look like they are too tall, but otherwise sound good.

Thanks,
Scott

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
A lot of people say the bilstein are too bumpy over rough terrain. Are they being oversensitive or is it a crappy ride? Most aftermarket performance suspension I've been in is bumpy over rough stuff. I have felt bilstein's before, but I can't use it as a comparison because it was on an Audi A4 with neuspeed/bilstein, and it felt NICE.
I know they'll be good after revalve, but what about as is, OTS?
Also thinking of 46mm bumpstops from FCM.

(
I'd like to get konis eventually but over all Im very happy
)
Sid,
Any reason you would choose koni over bilstein?

Scott

·
Registered
291 Posts
Scott,

Ahh, the black art of suspension.

I'm on KONIs, CG, FCM bumps and FM mounts all around. One nice thing about KONIs is their adjustability. If you change your spring rates, you can adjust the dampers to the new rates. Regular Yellow konis are good to about 450 lbs up front, I'm currently using 500 lbs with good results. But before I was an auto-x junkie, I used the konis with stock springs, then later FM springs (342/228). No revalve required.