ClubRoadster.net banner

1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Supporting Member
455 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ive got this up on Miataturbo.net but i figured you guys might want to check it out as well. Ive been collecting parts over the last year and I picked up an '86 BMW E30 last week to drive around while i'm doing my swap so i'm ready to get started.
A huge thanks goes out to m2cupcar for all the advice and direction he's given me so far. I'm going to need some help from you guys on this build as i'm new to turbo builds, megasquirt, and tuning.

As of right now I plan on doing all of the fabrication and install myself then get the car tuned by someone that knows what their doing naturally aspirated till its broken in. At that time ill slap on the Borg Warner and from what I've read it should be somewhat easy to adjust the tune myself.

Here is the car im starting from.

The assembled short block and a few other components i had them take care of took about 6 months to get back from the machine shop.

Calico Coatings coated pistons. Ceramic tops and Mahle skirts.

I brought the head to the machine shop after i ported and polished the intake and exhaust ports. I when ahead and smoothed out the combustion chamber while i was at it.

And heres the finished product.

Im a Mechanical engineering student at Western Kentucky University so i had access to some nice tools. I water jet cut some exhaust manifold flanges and other t3 and waste gate flanges that im not going to end up using because i ended up going with the EFR turbo which uses a T25 flange. If anyone needs some T3 flanges hit me up and ill sell them for cheap! .5" 304 stainless. the second exhaust flange was traded to m2cupcar for his ebay intercooler which can be seen toward the beginning of his thread. I also bought the PRC dual pass radiator and the bracket he made for the radiator as well.