ClubRoadster.net banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Noob here. So I picked up a 91 Miata a month ago and haven't had time to work on it until now.

It had a CEL and I scanned it and received code 9 which is supposed to be a water thermistor malfunction or short circuit. So I picked up the part at autozone (Part number 8574-18-840) and replaced it, but even after reconnecting the battery the CEL still remains as a code 9.
The car also still idles high and at random times fluctuates without touching the gas like before.
Not sure what I should try next. I tried checking the wires and plug that goes into the water thermistor for damage but I'm also a noob and have no idea what I'm looking at.

Any ideas on what I should do now?

Also sorry in advanced if I messed up and somehow missed a valuable link, but I really did try and search before posting haha

Edit***
I also took a video of the CEL flashes and I think I may have missed a Code 10 as well(The CEL that lights up for a longer time after the 9 flashes)...I'd appreciate if someone would clarify such a dumb question.

Also, I don't know if it'd help but I took a video of the car idling and what happens when I step on the throttle...when I only give it a little throttle the engine chokes but it doesn't choke if I stomp on the pedal...

·
Registered
76 Posts
If the plug was at fault, likely it would be damaged or it would be corroded, both of which should be pretty easy to tell. At this point, if it were me, I would use a continuity tester (or multimeter on that mode) to test for postive voltage at that plug (should be the blue and white wire), grounding the tester to a known ground. If you get nothing, there is likely a short in the positive lead to that sensor. If you do get voltage, then you may have an issue with the ground coming from that sensor.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3