ClubRoadster.net banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So recently I started a new project on my 01 miata I've seen a lot of done miata and never seen the markers shaved. I used to be a Vw kid and alotnof kids used to shave fender markers and bumpers so I decided to do it. I work as a foreman in a body shop and a firefighter also I do a lot of side aftermarket work. So to start I removed the markers and the socket the light sits in I cut out from the back to be flat with the bumper I used an old bumper for the plastic and cut and shaped an oval a half inch all around bigger than the hole the market was in I urathaned that to the back side of the bumper the. Continued to plastic weld all around the edge then I turned it over and welded the front edge. After that I used another piece of old bumper and cut and shaped it to fit perfectly In the oval (you can use the marker as a good baseline shape). I urathaned that to the backing plate then practice welded the front seam very well making sure the overlap the insert plastic into the bumper I built it up then sanded it down as best as possible I used u-pol filler specifically made for bumpers it's brown in color and it made tho act just like plastic staying flexible then a final 3m glaze was used to fill in any unseen pinholes and was sanded smooth so far I only have 1 done I will post more as I keep going feel free to ask any questions. Granted I know how to do these things well I can do it with ease it still takes a lot of time and patients with enough questions asked and time you can learn at some point I didn't know a thing if your a outgoing diy tote of person all it takes is the materials needed and you can do it

Attachments

·
Hardparker Extraordinaire
3,388 Posts
looks great :)

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3