ClubRoadster.net banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
239 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
History:
I am new to the miata community, but not new to cars. I had a couple cars, but the most notable was my previous fun car. A 2002 subaru WRX which I bought when I turned 18 and I sold it the beginning of my sophmore year of college for money reasons. It was pretty well built, stage 3 turbo setup with a bunch of goodies, built suspension/brakes and race rubber. This is the first car I have raced and definitely missed:

I then bought a protege5 from my uncle for a great price. I threw some springs on it, made it flush and drove it for two years as an "ultimate daily driver vehicle," which never became close to ultimate:

The Start:
Well, I missed racing way to much and gave the protege5 to my little sister for her to use in college. The miata, I bought the in real rough exterior shape with 180k miles but absolutely rust free. I actually took a suspension bolt off the chassis and it came off with metal flakes on it from the initial time it was put in! The paint was badly faded, softtop was torn, taillight busted, front bumper was improperly repainted with flaking clearcoat and the back bumper had a gouge in it. I didn`t even take a picture because of how crappy it looked but looking back, I should have.

Well I started off buffing the car and it came back pretty well. The single stage paint is fantastic although the original owner def. didn`t know how to buff because around the cracks, it was burned through before I started. I then shaved all the emblems, painted the mirrors, front bumper, back bumper and rear finish panel because of the horrible fading. Had to replace a bunch of misc. little stuff and maintenance. Here are some pictures after a couple initial mods and I could finally happily say this is my car: