ClubRoadster.net banner

Heat Extractor Hood

9K views 12 replies 11 participants last post by  Revox70 
#1 ·
Lets talk about Heat Extractors the hood.

I've seen a few options out there, people have used the mini cooper scoop, the for GT500 vent, and Singular Motorsports has developed their own which seems to be the best.

My engine bay is getting heat soaked, my future plans are to build a box around my intake filter, wrap my header and then put an extractor on my hood.

Experts, what are your opinions on the options available to us? I like Singular's but I like the look of the GT500 vent the best.

EDIT: interesting, I just found this option the Subaru bumper vents, see picture below

Singular Motorsports

GT500 vent

Mini scoop

Subaru Vents

See less See more
#2 ·
I'm no expert but here is another option. I have a polished hood that i plan on doing this to. I believe these are off of a jeep.

Flying Miata makes a similar type but not as long.
They even include some instructions on where to mount them for best heat extraction!
https://www.flyinmiata.com/support/instructions/misc/louvers.pdf

#3 ·
This was the site i found when i was entertaining cutting up my hood http://hoodlouvers.com/
They offer quite a few designs and they even have a miata section in the gallery.

#6 ·
While forum users will always promote friends' businesses, and there will always be a level of nut hugging going on.........I can vouch that the singular motorsports products do work really well, but the GT500 vent will work also. Only installed the center vent of the 3 singular vents on my v8 swapped e36, and it stopped my overheating problems. The GT500 has been proven to work as well, many times on miataturbo.net.

#9 · (Edited)
I used to use vents from ebay that were intended for marine applications. A search for "bilge vents" will reveal quite a few effective options.