ClubRoadster.net banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
374 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been reading for a bit on stereo systems - most of it is over my head - to figure out a solution for my stereo as I love quality music while driving and the stock miata system is not cutting it. I've installed two systems before but I'm still a noob when it comes to planning what parts to put with each other.

I have an amp/subs that I took out of my previous car:
2 channel 500W amp
2 12" subs <-- there is no way these are fitting in the miata.

I bought a sub/box for the miata:
1 10" 300W sub.

Right now everything is stock on the miata. Just the stock head unit, and the 2 crappy door speakers.

If I were to run the amp I have now (2 channel, 500W) with the sub for the miata (1 300W sub) and nothing in the other channel does that mean that the amp will only put out 250W, just to that sub? I'm fine with the 50W shortage (as long as it doesn't damage anything) to the sub - I'm not trying to go deaf. If I comprehended what I was reading correctly, I would have to "bridge" the amp (is that just a switch on the amp?) to get 500W to come out of one channel, otherwise it will do 250W per channel.

If that is the case (only 250W going to the sub) then is there a way to hook up the other channel to the door speakers? Some kind of Y connection (anti-bridge? :woolery:)? If so does this cut the power in half to each of the speakers? (250/2=125 to each speaker?) Or is it an inconsistant flow of power to each? Of course I would wait to upgrade the speakers before running any more power to them.

Just for giggles, let's say I installed two 6x9's on my rear deck. Making a total of 5 speakers, 4 "door" speakers, and a sub. Is it possible to get a two channel amp to power all of that? The sound quality would probably suffer right? Just trying to understand the concept here.