ClubRoadster.net banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,178 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So it's wet out, and I figured I'd practice drifting a little bit (not on public roads, of course)

Since I'm a total novice, I stayed at low speeds, 1st and 2nd gear only, so it was probably more like power-sliding. Either way, I suck horribly...I spun out 3 times :lol:

I'm not even trying to initiate really, just trying to get a feel of the car being sideways, sometimes with more success, sometimes less...

I've noticed that the car snaps away rather quickly...I'll have grip and then all of a sudden, snap oversteer, no progressive breakaway, I'm going to assume it has to do with the Miata's short wheelbase.

Can anyone give me some advice? I'm wondering, what is a good way to practice...I just want to learn how to control the car somewhat smoothly when it is sideways, then how to initiate.

Also, I need to know where is a SAFE place to practice, other than sanctioned events since it is the end of December and pretty much everything is closed.

Any advice is much appreciated.

·
Kicked off the island..
3,062 Posts