ClubRoadster.net banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm currently trying to build a KG Works inspired Gauge Bezel with classic gauges and I think I need some input on the design.

First of all, I'm a total amateur and I KNOW that the gauge faces may look terrible to some of you. I indeed used MSPaint for some things I couldn't figure out with Photoshop, so go on - laugh at me. I'm neither as patient as revlimiter (I admire your work by the way, I'm sure you will stumble across this thread sooner or later) nor anywhere near as skilled as him. I just like to do things myself and to me, they look okay. It's just a first draft anyway.

As you can see I'm aiming for the classic black Smiths design to go with my additional gauges. I'm quite satisfied with the tachometer and the rev counter, but fuel, oil and water temperature need some tweaking. Some lines have to be made thicker, but for now, this'll have to do for reference. There'll only be slow progress, since I can only use Photoshop at work on my breaks, and even worse, I'm a lazy and cheap bastard.

So for now I thought I'd ask the creative people over here on their opinion:
- I can't decide between numbers or letters for all three fuel, oil and w.temp. I like it minimalistic but also a bit authentic.
- Only text or pictograms or both (too little space I think)?
- I've searched ages for the right font, but I think it's an okay fit for the Smiths. If anyone knows a better one, feel free to tell me.

Thank you for your contributions!

Tim

·
//banned
9,131 Posts
i'd just do f and e on the fuel. remove the h.
for oil pressure, i'd use psi, not bar - so 0-90. maybe 0-30-60-90 or 0-30-line for 60, but no number-90
water temp - first of all, get the temps right, lol. i think pegged all the way to the right is around 250. and put 12 oclock around 190 or so.

·
Registered
236 Posts