ClubRoadster.net banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Supporting Member
12,259 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm all about the classic roadster experience and love the sweet song played by a highly tuned dohc 4-cylinder breathing through 4 air horns. The question is, which is more RJDM: Kehin FCR carburetors or IRTB fuel injection? If someone popped the hood at your local Miata meet, which would impress you the most? I understand the limitations that come with using carbs but it seems so Road&Ster to do it anyways. One of the Joyfast cars has some sweet looking FCRs.

My car is toy, not a daily driver and I have no emissions testing requirements where I live. All I care about is the weekend experience e.g. back roads, HPDEs, local club autocrosses (no classification necessary modification unlimited within bounds of safety), car shows, etc. I figure the flat slides can be purchases for much less money than IRTBs but are more troublesome to tune. I have limited experience with carbs - much prefer to stare at a laptop and press buttons. Having said that, how easy is it to tune the FCRs as compared to Webers DCOEs or S.U. carbs?

·
Supporting Member
2,723 Posts
Probably easier to tune than Weber DCOE's, if only because the flat slides have far fewer parts than the DCOE's!

If you run DCOE's today you're probably doing it for nostalgic reasons. Whereas Keihin FCR's are still a legitimate all-out performance choice. In terms of atomization , the Keihins and Mikunis are supposedly better than port injection even.

·
Mufasa in Training
33,009 Posts
I'm strongly considering IRTB's, but mostly because I know nothing at all about dealing with carbs...

·
Banned
437 Posts
I've heard that carbs are a pain to use because you have to retune for everything. Meaning tune for the street, tune for the strip, tune for changing track conditions (e.g. weather), so on and so forth. If your ride's sole purpose is track only, then it should be ok...

·
Mufasa in Training
33,009 Posts