ClubRoadster.net banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All, been lurking on the CR site for awhile now...wish I would have found you guys before I took the plunge, but hindsight is 20/20.

I'm and old guy with a car addiction. Have worked in and around the OEM auto industry for almost 40 years and I'm still learning.

Currently drive a modded Legacy GT with big external gate turbo and FMIC, coilovers, sways, custom exhaust system and a bunch of chassis stiffening mods, and still have my modded '71 Pantera, '69 Ram Air III GTO and '85 Vette with NOS. I just sold a mildly modded '69 Bug and was looking for a fun beater/DD when I decided on a Miata. I am very impatient and impulsive, so I bought the car 2 days after I decided on a Miata...other considerations were: S2K (too expensive), Solstice or Sky, and MR2. Price and availability won out as I was trying to not have any more out of pocket after selling the Bug.

Anyway, found a '99 on CL, price was close to my budget and it had a roll bar and a Torsen, two positives. Body was so-so, but motor/trans were tight, so I bought it (at night). After I got it home/work, put it on the rack and found leaking R&P, EGR DTC, and not too much else wrong except for the ugly wheels and too much fenderwell space. Looked for a deal on wheels/tires and springs and I'm cheap, so I settled on XXRs and Ricelands...actually I like the style of the 513s (reminds me of the original Minilite wheels) and the Raceland ride works for me. I also added the Ebay bolt on fender flares. I like to mod things so I will be making some chassis braces, adding the frame rail braces and some other small odds and ends that don't cost too much but add to the enjoyment of the car.