ClubRoadster.net banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,182 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
whats up everyone..my names Mikey..19 from socal..going to FIDM for graphic design..looking at buying a miata but have a few questions for everyone before i commit..

are miatas reliable?
can they be relatively quick with not too much money?
good for the track? (auto-x, drift)
common problems with miatas, **** to watch for when buying one?

thanks!

·
Registered
509 Posts
Try to get a long nose crank if you can. You can tell as it will have 8 slots on the crank pulley instead of 4. The miata.net garage has a good article on it. http://www.miata.net/garage/crankshaft.html

Ill let more knowledgeable members chime in for other advice since im relatively new to ownership myself. Good luck on your search

·
Registered
509 Posts
Dont buy a 1.6 get the 1.8 motor i have had both and i like the 1.8 better just my to cents
Or do this and save yourself from the hassle haha. It also has more power and a tad higher compression. 1.8 is the 94+ unless the PO has swapped one in. Also find yourself a car with a torsen diff if you can

·
Registered
568 Posts
Do yourself a favor; Do a bit more research and set your standards high. When I looked for mine, it had to be black, bone stock for the most part, 96 or 97 cause I wanted obd2 for more power, with hardtop, clean title, NO BONDO, and low miles. I got exactly what I was looking for (black, 96, 0bd2 1.8 with matching hardtop) just at 3k.. Sometimes it might seem impossible to find what you desire for but with some patience, you might just find something better.

·
Registered
1,448 Posts