ClubRoadster.net banner

1 - 20 of 326 Posts

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Folks, I've been building this car for a couple of months now, I've been posting up its progress on the UK forums and I thought you guys might be interested in it, I hope you like it, and I welcome your comments

Almost a year ago I purchased a Damaged Silver Mk1, the previous owner had damaged the rear wing, I ran the car around during the winter till the MOT ran out, then I parked it on my drive, and that is where it sat for the next 6 months or so, during that time I have been thinking about what to do with it, there was a few possibilities.

1) Break it
2) repair the damage and sell it
3) put it back on the road for the winter
4) something else

I kept thinking about doing option 1 or 2, but then when I was bored one day I was reminded of the M2 Speedster, and all of a sudden item 4 started to seem like a good idea, so now this poor neglected silver Mk1 is going to become something special.
here are some pictures of the M2 speedster, this was made in 1995, and it was the only one ever made, I will not be copying it, but using it for my inspiration.

and here is the car that is going to be transformed, lookng very sorry for itself

Today I stripped off the roof, emptied the doors of all the glass and window winders because these wont be needed, the masking tape shows roughly where the windscreen will be cut down to, although I will be keeping the top part of the screen frame, unlike the M2 version, I've got a set of S2 elise seats coming which will allow me to determine where the seating position will be, I need it to be as low as possible, the M2 version appears to keep the seating position more or less standard, I will be getting it as low as I can, I want to be sitting under the screen.

That is as far as I have got so far :)