ClubRoadster.net banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Recently purchased a 93 miata 5 speed with a worn out 1.6 in it. I have access to a totaled low mileage RX8. Having owned an RX8 in the past, I love the way that the renesis motor runs and have been considering swapping it into a NA miata for years.

Now that is may finally become a reality, I figured i'd ask to see if anybody was familiar with both cars, and what issues I may run into. I'm not new to motor swapping, but I am new to motor swapping miatas.

Assuming I had a complete running 6 speed RX8, what issues do you think will arise? Plan is to swap the motor, trans, ecu, and electronics into the miata body. Assuming the diff will not work... Also, I'm not too worried about keeping power steering or ABS as I have a comfortable daily driver already.

Would love to hear any input.

Thanks!

·
Supporting Member
1,763 Posts
Recently purchased a 93 miata 5 speed with a worn out 1.6 in it. I have access to a totaled low mileage RX8. Having owned an RX8 in the past, I love the way that the renesis motor runs and have been considering swapping it into a NA miata for years.

Now that is may finally become a reality, I figured i'd ask to see if anybody was familiar with both cars, and what issues I may run into. I'm not new to motor swapping, but I am new to motor swapping miatas.

Assuming I had a complete running 6 speed RX8, what issues do you think will arise? Plan is to swap the motor, trans, ecu, and electronics into the miata body. Assuming the diff will not work... Also, I'm not too worried about keeping power steering or ABS as I have a comfortable daily driver already.

Would love to hear any input.

Thanks!

I'm swapping a turboII rotary into a NA right now.
A few things. One you will need a V8 roadsters tube front subframe.
You will need custom mounts for everything. Engine, Trans, Diff, Custom Driveshaft.