ClubRoadster.net banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
466 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As not to hijack another's thread, I thought I would start a new one.

I mentioned in the "suede dash" thread that I had done one of my doors. I was asked a few questions, so here are some pics.

Above: Traced the stock panel on some 1/8 wood, and cut it out with the jigsaw.

Above: Covered the panel with 1/8" foam, and spray glued the panel and the suede.

Above: Used staples to hold the suede in place. The glue holds it, but this id just to make sure.

Now, before I add the "finished" picture, I have to clarify a few things...
1) I KNOW suede is not for everyone....I am still trying to decide if its for me.
2) I am a HORRIBLE photographer....especially after spending the day with my Mom and Mother-in-Law (Easter stuff), then 3 hours worth of spray glue fumes.
3) I like the armrest...I'm sort of lazy, and use it every time I drive.
4) I know the armrest looks a bit "out of place" with it being "shiney". I have an idea for a "fix" that I will try later in the week. If it works, great. If not, I will remake new ones that I can actually recover.

Here goes.

More details can be found here:
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/1172695/7

John

·
This is a long user title
3,195 Posts
Hi,
Thanks for the pictures you took, it helps for when I'll try it.

In my opinion, it would look better if the upper part was still in plastic so it could merge with the dash. And maybe if there was an alternative to the plastic stereo thing it would looks better too but overall, I like it. Just the upper part I don't like a lot.

Hope it helps

·
Registered
466 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I agree with some of what you said.

The first panel I assembled with the top portion still vinyl, and the bottom suede. I took it apart as soon as I saw it. Frankly, it look horrid!

Within the next few weeks, the dash itself will also be recovered in suede, so that will take care of that part.