ClubRoadster.net banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I have been running my car in NASA TT and Global Time Attack and I am looking to be a little more competitive next season. After talking with a few people, I think I have found what I am looking for but have a few questions.

I will be building my 1.8 with SuperTech 11.0:1 pistons, rods, valve seals, springs, etc. on a M62 and megasquirt PNP.

-How much power am I looking and how much boost?
-What is the best kit out? Bang for the buck??
-Anything I need to look out for?
-Any tips, info, etc that I will need for this?

Thanks you ahead of time. I am a BMW guy (even though I have owned 3 miata's) so I am new to building a race motor for a miata...take it a little easy on me!

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Also, THIS IS A RACE MOTOR FOR MY TIME ATTACK CAR. No, it is not driven on the street, yes it will be on E85, and no, I don't care if it last more then one season.

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Any reason why you're using an M62 instead of a Rotrex?
Like I said, I am new to miata stuff. My last miata was from 4 years ago and was all motor. The reason I was going M62 was I know someone with one for really cheap.

That kit seems pretty impressive for pricing. I need to look into what all I will need for it.

Wouldnt 11.0:1 be too high for S/C
IT IS A RACE MOTOR! Car will be on E85, tuned and is not driven on the street. Yes high compression and boost don't mix...for a daily. For a time attack car it is a different story.

·
Accepting donations.
3,366 Posts
You only partial to the S/C because of the deal you have set up? Turbo would make it a little cheaper usually but I don't know if that would change your class I thought it was power to weight. But I don't know the rules at all.

Regardless I would go to MT more people track there and almost all are boosted. If you want your wheels to fit cool ask here, if you want to go fast ask there.