ClubRoadster.net banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i am relatively new to the miata scene. i have picked a suspension set-up that i think might be a pretty nice ride for my first '92 miata. but i would like some opinions from someone that knows better. i have picked the Tokico Illuminas with RSR Heavy Duty Race Springs. the reason for the illumina is because i have a good buddy that has them on his '92 MR2. and they seem to fulfill the job pretty well. so if anyone has any comments and/or suggestions please feel free. i take all good and bad. i just need honesty and some advise. thanks a lot.

·
Registered
592 Posts
My recommendation is yellow Konis on stock springs. The Konis have adjustable perches so you can be 4x4, a little too high, or just right.

·
Banned
445 Posts
i recommend the koni newstyle sportkit combined with fatcatmotorsports bumpstops and shockmounts, i am front upper perch 11.7" and rear middle perch 12.1"

Attachments

·
Registered
1,028 Posts
If you've already bought your stuff, its a little late to ask for advice isn't it? ;) what is your goal for the car?

what is the spring rates of the RSR springs? The illuminas are kind of cheap shocks, but if you are just a beginner or aren't going to track your car much, they will be fine. Its best to match the spring rates to the damping curves. I would call the manufacture and ask them what is the proper spring rate range for the dampers you bought. then use something in that range. If they can't answer, then you should probably look for something else...

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
no, i havent already purchased them yet. that would be silly. and yes, i do plan to track it every once in a while.
as for my goal, i have been a big touge guy since the beginning. i like to get it sideways when nessesary, but would also like to have a a good grip. am i asking too much? so i guess something adjustable would be cool.