ClubRoadster.net banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently just purchased a '99 NB from Craigslist. I am the 4th owner. So preferring to be on the safe side I took the car to a mechanic to get a check up. Immediately the mechanic noticed these following things needed to be replaced:

- Thermostat + Gasket (leaking)
- valve cover gasket (leaking)
- belts

How easy would this be to replace and what would the costs of each be? I have no experience with car and I'm a complete noob. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
648 Posts
Parts shouldn't crest $125 for all of them if you're paying full boat retail. Labor on all is dependent on book time, which I have no idea how much that is for each job, but figure on anywhere from $70/hr on up.

·
Registered
313 Posts
replacing all that would take 30 minutes maybe. its pretty straight forward. belts come off by turning the tensioner and the thermo cap is 2 bolts.

valve cover would take longest to install because you need to tq the bolts in a specific order. its easy tho, remove old gasket, take off coil pack ,install new then use some silicone stuff on the corners

·
Registered
648 Posts
Doing it yourself would be about 30-60 minutes, even as a noob. You should also change the spark plugs and maybe the wires if you're going to have it that far apart. And you can also visually inspect the timing belt as well with the cam cover off.

·
Registered
2,488 Posts
thermostat + gasket = $10
Valve Cover gasket = $30
Belts = $20?

They are all very easy to install.
-The thermostat gasket is a matter of two bolts, but you will probably have to drain your coolant if you don't want to spill any.
-VC gasket is a bit more pain in the ass as you have to loosen off the coilpack in the rear. You will also need to dab some corners with silicone. you can find the procedure on m.net