ClubRoadster.net banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So this last weekend, I decided to try my part at replacing my front shocks. I got two street Konis to put on until I get coil-overs. I completed the job on Saturday. When I started to drive, I noticed huge issues with the alignment. My steering wheel is at about 2 o'clock when I am going straight, and my car pulls hard the opposite way to the left. Since I am a newbie at suspension, I made the mistake and took the drivers side tie rod off the wheel spindle, I did not adjust the tie rod, but I put it on exactly how it was and put a new cotter pin in it. I also did not mark the eccentric bolts and I had to put them back to the best of my knowledge where they were.

Obviously, I need an alignmnet, but is it possible that there may be something else wrong that I am not seeing? I dont want to get an alignment and it not solve the problem. What should I check? The power steering struggles now when I turn at a stop and I assume thats from the alignmnet. My biggest concern is the steering wheel being so far off to the right and my car pulling to the left. Any imput would be appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes, everything is back together with the right torque specs. It drives fine, doesnt make any noises. Just feels out of wack.

·
Registered
95 Posts
drop the coin for the alignment. You already stated you know you need one regardless. It will either fix your problem or yo got the alignment you needed anyway.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I would hate to get an alignment only to find out that something else is wrong that could have been taken care of before. I have an appointment for friday. Thanks

·
life is bitch!
2,302 Posts
best time to look is while it's up on the rack. if there's a problem causing the alignment to be fubared they'll tell you. odds are just from your description that the problem couldn't be accurately identified anyway.