ClubRoadster.net banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My newly acquired 96 Miata has a huge hole in the stock muffler and the rest of the system is pretty rotten in general, so I'm considering options for replacing everything.

I'm not going for loud or "buzzing bees" but I would like a better flowing exhaust. A good friend of mine (ex-navy welder) does custom performance exhausts with mandrel bends using J/U bends, so I'm thinking 2.25" with a resonator and a reasonably sized rear muffler.

He also asked if I wanted to do the downpipe as well... he and I are both from the VW world and on a lot of those, replacing the factory downpipe can really help exhaust flow and performance. Since I'm new to the Miata world, does this make a difference on these cars as well? Would it be worth it to make a new downpipe in 2.25" (and get a high flow cat / test pipe) or should I just aim to build a cat-back system?

I did some reading in the archives and it seems like the heat shielding on the downpipe is important, so we may have to come up with something if we go that route...

Let me know what you think...

·
Accepting donations.
3,366 Posts
You don't have a turbo so you don't have a downpipe.

Do you mean header.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
The part I'm describing is the pipe that bolts to the stock exhaust manifold / header, goes down the left side of the engine / rear of the subframe and then connects to the cat. It's got a flange on either end and a sheet metal heatshield around it. Maybe you guys just consider that part of the exhaust...

·
brontosaurus
7,236 Posts
Header+exhaust on an otherwise stock miata is probably worth ~7hp.

Personally if I were you I would evaluate your plans for the car. Build for your goal. If you are turboing, just do the catback in 2.5"-3". If you are supercharging or staying n/a a nice header+catback would be beneficial.