ClubRoadster.net banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Mostly Harmless
1,540 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm starting this just to avoid further cluttering invert's GB thread.

...and advance warning: I'm a newb to the whole IRTB game, so you've been forewarned.

In said thread, there are several mentions of IRTB setups simply not being able to pass smog. Yes, they require plenty of accurate tuning. Yes, they require some tinkering, resyncing, etc. What would keep such a setup from passing a smog test? Is this strictly in reference to a visual inspection in Cali or other such states...or is there something in the basic setup of these that totally screws us as related to emissions?

I simply don't get how, in TX for example, simply changing the method of intake would so drastically alter the exhaust gases that our locals couldn't pass a sniffer test on an inspection dyno. This really just sounds dumb to me considering those cars that have them stock, as well as those on this site with Fuji, Aizawa or other kits.

Granted, that might just be because I don't have such a setup, haven't looked into the tuning methods, etc. But would someone please be kind enough to spell it out to me? I want to know if I'd just be wasting $$ fitting these bits to my '90 (no EGR anyway) or '94 only to later find that "won't pass smog" really means the emissions are gonna kill me come inspection time.

·
Registered
312 Posts
If there is no visual inspection in Texas, which I assume there still isn't, you may be able to pass. The issue is less of the ITB's and more of the motor's internals and tune. Typically one who has ITB's also has higher compression pistons, larger cams, etc. I would imagine a stock motor and ITB's would pass with a good tune, but do you really want a stock or stockish motor and ITB's?

·
Garage Quinn Motors - GQM
2,847 Posts
I'm starting this just to avoid further cluttering invert's GB thread.