ClubRoadster.net banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
246 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I picked up a 94' R-package turbo Miata about a week ago. The car is rust free, has about 94k miles(engine has 50k), and is generally well put together. So far, I'm loving the thing. It's very different from what I'm used to, but the more I get used to it, the more I enjoy it.

And some background...
I have a lot of experience with Subarus, and my last car was a quick and clean 2007 WRX wagon. A very well rounded car that was speedy regardless of the surface and conditions. I was pretty fond of the thing. Unfortunately, a deer ran into the road, and I hit said deer, totaling the wagon. Not a good day. Fortunately, the insurance company took good care of me. After selling or parting it out, I will have gotten well over what the car cost new.

Before I knew that the wagon was totaled, I picked up a 2002 Impreza wagon to use as a winter car so that the wrx could be garaged during the cold months and made baller as all hell, starting next summer. Since the wrx was going to turn into more of an auto-x/occasional track day car, I figured it would be smarter to replace it with a better platform for that instead of getting another wagon since I have the 2002 as a DD. After much deliberation, and considering options like a c5 vette, e30 and e36 M3's, s2000, evo, and sti, I ended up choosing a Miata. Mainly because I can get most of the tarmac performance of any of those other cars, while putting a nice chunk of money in the bank. Having the potential to be fast while putting away a bunch of money ended up being the winner.